Exhibits at Mill Hill Historic Park
A Colonial Governor’s Legacy: the c. 1740 Fitch Law Office
Step back in time and explore the Governor Fitch Law Office, recently renovated under the joint supervision of the Norwalk Historical Commission and Norwalk Historical Society, reinterpreted in 2018 and curated by Dr. Daryn Reyman-Lock, with exhibit design by Scott Kuykendall.
Moved to Mill Hill in 1971, the Fitch Law Office has been used as a key tool in teaching school children about Colonial life. All rooms including the Governor’s office room, the clerk’s garret bedroom, the kitchen and storage cellar have been reinterpreted to give a more accurate representation of life in the late 1700s.
Paint analysis on wood paneling and floors was completed and, subsequently, surfaces repainted to reflect their historic 18th century colors. Reproduction 18th century rugs woven on period looms were laid and furnishings, including desks, cabinets, kitchen and table wares, books and linens, from Governor Fitch’s house inventory sourced and installed.
Dr. Daryn Reyman-Lock is a native of Connecticut. After graduating from Lehigh University with a B.S. in Geologic Sciences and a B.A. in Archaeology, she matriculated to the University of Nottingham in England to complete a Masters and Ph.D. in Archaeology. Her research is concerned with the social constructs of space and phenomenology.
Upon returning to the United States in 2012, she began working as a historic preservation specialist. Dr. Reyman-Lock often works closely with non-profits to curate exhibits, catalogue and move museum collections, and research historic landscapes and buildings. She also consults for municipalities on a variety of projects.
Mill Hill Historic Park is located at 2 East Wall St., Norwalk, and is open to the public year-round from sunrise to sunset. Mill Hill buildings are open during special events and by appointment for group tours. For more information, please contact the Historical Society at the link below.